Introducing the Anifilm 2020 Juries

Introducing the Anifilm 2020 Juries

28 | 09

Best films and games will be picked by three-piece international juries. The jury for International Competition of Feature films will include David Silverman (USA) whose name is connected to The Simpsons. He directed and produced a number of episodes as well as The Simpsons Movie. While in Pixar, he also worked on films such as Monsters Inc. and Ice Age. The second jury member will be producer and distributor Luce Grosjean (France). In 2017, in collaboration with Miyu Productions, this active supporter of young talents founded distribution company Miyu Distribution focusing predominantly on film festivals and international distribution. Its distribution portfolio includes titles such as Egg and DaughterPierre Yves Drapeau (Canada) is an award-winning composer and sound engineer known for his notable cooperation with the renowned studio National Film Board of Canada. His filmography includes such films as Captain Morten and the Spider QueenWaiting for the New Year and Subconscious Password.

Also Serge Besset (France), member of our jury for short and student films, is connected to the festival theme Hear Animation. Besset is known for his work on internationally acclaimed animated films such as A Cat in ParisPhantom Boy and Aunt HildaEliška Děcká (Czech Republic) lectures history and theory of animation at the Department of Animated Film at the Film and TV School of the Academy of Performing Arts. She is a member of the Society for Animation Studies. Anna Mantzaris (Sweden) focuses mainly on stop-motion animation with felt puppets. She attracted attention with her films Enough and Good Intentions and in her work, she likes to combine hopelessness with humour. 

Best music videos and abstract and non-narrative animation will be picked by Michaela Čopíková (Slovakia), graduate of the Academy of Performing Arts in Bratislava, who won the Slovakian Sun in a Net Award (Slnko v sieti) in 2010 for her film About Socks and Love. In the same year, she co-founded studio Ové Pictures with Veronika Obertová. Second member of the jury is Milen Alempijević (Serbia), artistic director of the Animanima international film festival. And Joost Rekveld (the Netherlands), artist, curator and experimental filmmaker, is motivated by the question what can we learn from a dialogue with machines.

Jury of the International Competition of Independent Computer games is composed of Lukáš Medek (Czech Republic) who has more than 14 years of experience as a 3D graphic and game designer, Rafael Varona (the Netherlands), illustrator and animator creating animated loops for clients such as Pepsi and Google, and Marek Plichta (Germany), artist, animator and playful media designer. As a game developer and graphic artist, he worked on independent games such as Future UnfoldingSpiritsOrdnungswissenschaft and many more.